Thread: Dear Tom Penders

5A Texas Football.com Hall of Famer dada's Avatar

Default Dear Tom Penders

Congrats on making it to the big dance for the first time since I graduated HS. The DMW(Dead Man Walking) motivational speech really fired the Coogs up and they made a heck of a run, probably saving your job. However, I have one question for you. You have what some say the greatest HS team of ALL TIME....sitting across the street. Was it too much for you or one of your staff members to cross Cullen....stop by Frenchy's to get something to eat and just walk into the gym at Jack Yates HS. Micheal Young was a part of Phi Slamma Jamma....and was on your staff earlier this year......His son......committed to Providence. Snap Peters.......one of the most explosive players I've seen in years.......went to Basketball power Western Kentucky.....Darius Gardner couldn't wait to get to Sam Houston State. Not ONE visit????? not ONE offer? In 4 YEARS?????
    "We had a great offense. Some people say we were one- dimensional by only running the ball, but if it's not broke, don't fix it, and if they can't stop the run, we're going to run it down your throat." -Adam Taylor, RB Katy

Administrator

Default Re: Dear Tom Penders

Crazy that he can't recruit Houston at all, but not all that surprising. I know guys want to get out of town sometimes and go experience something else, but at least make the effort.

UH can do much better than what they are now in my opinion. If I were them, I'd take a serious look at someone like North Carolina assistant Steve Robinson. Robinson has an extensive resume, and I believe his experience would be ideal for UH. On top of that, he is an outstanding recruiter. He's been at UNC in an assistant role for a few years now, and he could be ready to lead another program.

Looks like he is stepping down.